Skip to main content

Neighbors of DuPage

Exceptional Students Recognized at Scholarship Luncheon

May 24, 2019 05:07PM ● By Hannah Ott
Westmont - The Westmont Chamber of Commerce Educational Foundation and the Westmont Rotary Club combined to host a special luncheon to celebrate some of Westmont’s brightest and exceptional graduating high school seniors.

The luncheon was held on Tuesday, May 14 at Papa Passero’s, 6326 S. Cass Ave., Westmont. The Westmont Chamber of Commerce Educational Foundation (WCCEF) is a not-for-profit, charitable organization with a mission to provide recognition and scholarships to area students.

Throughout the year, the WCCEF holds several fundraising events to raise money for scholarships. To date, over $100,000 has been raised and awarded to local students. As a result of the generosity of members of the Westmont Chamber of Commerce and Tourism Bureau (WCCTB), and the community-at-large, through their commitment of time, monetary donations and resources, the WCCEF was able to offer $8,000 in scholarships this year.

"This was our twentieth year of awarding scholarships to young adults who either reside in Westmont or are children of members of the Westmont Chamber of Commerce and Tourism Bureau, to assist them with their college expenses. This is thanks in part to generous donations from area businesses including Advanced Rehabilitation Clinics, Burgess Square and Oxford Bank," remarked Joseph Moffa, President of the WCCEF.

2019 WCCEF Scholarship Recipients:
  • Caden Anderson, Westmont High School High School
  • Nicole Beulah, Downers Grove South High School
  • Jake Dooley, Westmont High School
  • Zachary William Gooding, Hinsdale Central High School
  • Anthony Grammich, Downers Grove South High School
  • John Karesh, Westmont High School
  • Ashley Liljeberg, Westmont High School
  • Kyle Nguyen, Westmont High School
  • Katherin Helen Grace Rosol, Westmont High School
  • Caroline Sullivan, Westmont High School
  • Emily Ruth Tayfel, Westmont High School
  • Michael Thompson, Westmont High School
  • Anita Vazquez, Westmont High School
  • Paris Ware, Westmont High School
WCCEF Award Recipients with Superintendent Community Unit School District #201 Kevin Carey, Principal of Westmont High School, Jack Baldermann, WCCEF President Joseph Moffa, Debby Piha, Education and Awards Selection Committee and members of the Westmont Chamber of Commerce & Tourism Bureau.

 Source: Larry Forssberg 630-960-5553 and cover image by